GREAT DIVIDE YETI IMPERIAL STOUT

image

There are moments in your life when you stumble across something that leaves you completely at a loss for words.  Moments that make you giggle like a young child for no other reason other than you simply don’t know what else to do.  I just had that moment.  Literally five minutes ago before writing this review.  I usually don’t write my reviews at the same time i’m savouring the subject im reviewing.  However I just need to tell people about how good this massive 9.5% abv imperial stout is right now.
  It’s phenomonal!!
The smell of roasty sweet maltiness and intense fruity hop character upon opening is merely a teaser of what’s to come upon opening up the bottle. It pours like a thick viscous liquid black gold forming a tight, thick dark tan coloured head, and believe me it leaves your mouth salivating at the prospect of drinking it. 

This beer is so veluptous and intense in its flavour profile.  Rich bitter chocolate at the front, silky smooth in the mouth, leads you on a dance with dark roast coffee, vanilla and spicy hop bitterness. The bitterness lingers but mellows at the back leaving thirst for more accents of burnt caramel and toffee and dark fruit notes.  Its sublime.  Its hard to describe in words.  Its simply fucking delicious. 

image

Not to mention the comforting, warming alcohol content bringing the whole experience together in one big warm imperial hug.  I cant describe how much I love this beer. 

It saddens me that I live in the UK and its difficult to access this great beer over here.  I’d love to try other styles from Great Divide brewing company.  It is without a doubt a new addition to my bucket list to visit them in colorado meet the guys behind this beer which I believe is my favourite beer to date.  Look out for this one people.  10/10.

Leave a Reply

